that elusive soulmate…

by David Ochanji

“I prize thy love more than whole mines of gold
Or the riches that the East doth hold,
My love is such that rivers cannot quench,
Nor ought but love from thee, give recompense.
Thy love is such I can no way repay,
The heavens reward the manifold, I pray.
Then while we live, in love let’s so persevere
That when we live no more, we may live ever.”
Anne Bradstreet

A soul mate is someone who you love and they love you right back with equal measure. You have so much in common, you complete each other, and every moment apart is as painful as it is difficult. There are so many words in my vocabulary with which I can describe a soul mate, but my assumption is that the meaning is perfectly understood. In her song ‘We all want love’, Rihanna sings of her desire to have a soul mate. I found the lyrics to her song very intimate, as such; I declare it the theme song of this article. *cool, huh?*

Connotations of love are nowadays unheard of. Does love really exist? That’s a very exciting debate for a thrilling debate. It is clearly evident that love is absent in most relationships these days. All there is is fun and sex. A very good friend of mine thinks that sex is overrated. I honestly concur. Did I mention friends with benefits? I am not exactly disregarding such kind of relations, because given the chance, I wouldn’t say no to them. They do have some advantages.

I am a young soul with a knack for old-fashioned love. Dating back to the times of Shakespeare and William B. Yeats; a very romantic generation. Composing sonnets and love poems; such were the methods used to find elusive soul mates. If one was to employ such techniques in the present day, I wonder how far they’d go. In any case, I still hold with the old-school love style.

My perfect soul mate would exhibit the following traits and must also meet the following conditions (ahem): She must openly declare her love for me, face to face. She must be romantic and give me the sexual satisfaction I need. I am not a child, so I will not mince my words. She must know how to kiss – I do not require an amateur who smothers my face in saliva, or threaten to bite off my tongue. I must always be with her on Friday or Saturday nights. You see, there is something special about these consecutive nights that turns me on…

I think love-making is a very essential part of being soul mates, which is why I focus so much on it. She must show me some bit of care, ask me how my day was, wish me a good night, and such. Hygiene is key. I like it when my soul mate smells good, such that the smell of your skin lingers on me, then I can remember you. She must be presentable in her dressing and be of unquestionable character. The fear of the Lord is somehow moving to me. I have a thing for sexy bodies; I want to be attracted to her every time I see her.

In search for the perfect soul mate, I have known no peace. Unrequited love; the worst of my experiences – it hurts so damn bad! Being cheated on, or kiss-and-telling, I loathe that with the hatred that a man of God hates the devil. I can now comprehend quite perfectly the reasons that drive society into ‘no-strings-attached’ relations; it’s because finding a flawless soul mate has indeed proved elusive.

3 thoughts on “that elusive soulmate…

comment

